Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Some licensing fees to increase


June 27, 2022

PORT ORCHARD – On Friday the State of Washington is increasing some vehicle fees, most of them that will be applied when you purchase a vehicle. The new fees are part of a $17 billion transportation package approved by the Washington State Legislature earlier this year.

          • Original car and truck license plates will be $50 each (Previously $10).
          • Replacement plates for cars and trucks will be $30 each (Previously $10).
          • Original motorcycle plates will be $20 (Previously $4).
          • Replacement motorcycle plates will be $12 (Previously $4).
          • Temporary permits provided by dealers to buyers will be $40 (Previously $15).
          • Negotiable dealer documentation fees will be $200 (Previously $150).
          • The Stolen Vehicle Check will be $50 (Previously $15) for all out-of-state vehicles.
          • The Vehicle Weight and Truck Weight (for trucks weighing 12,000 pounds or less) fees increase by $10.


More information about the fees and the legislation is available at