Washington State Office of the Insurance Commissioner • Statewide Health Insurance Benefits Advisors (SHIBA)

January - March 2021 Approved Medicare Supplement (Medigap) plans

By federal law, high-deductible plans G and F have a \$2,370 deductible for the year 2021

The best time to enroll in a Medigap plan is during the first six months you have both Medicare Parts A and B.

People enrolled in Original Medicare who have:

- A Medigap plan B through N can join any Medigap plan except Plan A.
- Medigap Plan A can join any Medigap Plan A.
- More comprehensive health coverage than the Medigap plan they're buying, can join any comprehensive Medigap plan except Plan A.

There's <u>no</u> **yearly open enrollment period for Medicare Supplement (Medigap) plans.** If you're already enrolled in a Medigap plan, you may apply to buy or switch plans at any time. However, if you're not currently enrolled in a Medigap but want to buy one, rules vary whether insurers may require you to pass a written health screening questionnaire. Not sure if you'll need to take a health screening? Call our Insurance Consumer Hotline at: 1-800-562-6900.

Company	Pre- X ¹	Health screen ²	Standardized benefit plans & monthly costs Plan									
ASURIS NORTHWEST HEALTH 1-844-278-7472			Α	В	D	G	к	L	М	N	С	F
Age 65 and older	No	Yes	\$159			\$188	\$121			\$145	\$224	\$225
Notes about Asuris Northwest: These plans are offered in the following counties: Adams, Asotin, Benton, Chelan, Douglas, Ferry, Franklin, Garfield, Grant, Kittitas, Lincoln, Okanogan, Pend Oreille, Spokane, Stevens, and Whitman counties.												
1-800-800-2254			Α	В	D	G	κ	L	Μ	Ν	С	F
Age 65 and older	No	Yes	\$158	\$192	\$197	\$288	\$108	\$186	\$171	\$182		\$311
With a high deductible	No	Yes				\$75						\$75
FIRST HEALTH LIFE &HEALTH 1-800-264-4000			Α	В	D	G	к	L	М	N	С	F
Age 65 and older	No	Yes	\$154	\$189		\$211				\$167		\$227

*To buy a Medigap plan C or F, you must have been eligible for Medicare before Jan. 1, 2020.

Note: Plans and premium costs listed are filed and approved by the Washington State Office of the Insurance Commissioner. Premiums listed are for monthly payments through automatic funds transfer, if available. The premium costs may differ for different modes or methods of payment, so be sure to check with the company.

Companies may change their rates at various times throughout the year, so always check with the company for the latest availability and premiums. Plans issued before June 1, 2010 have different rates due to changes in Medicare.

Questions? Call our Insurance Consumer Hotline at 1-800-562-6900

Washington State Office of the Insurance Commissioner • Statewide Health Insurance Benefits Advisors (SHIBA) January – March 2021 Approved Medicare Supplement (Medigap) plans

Company	Pre- X ¹	Health screen ²	Stand	6	Plans C & F*							
GARDEN STATE LIFE INSURANCE CO 1-888-350-1488			Α	В	D	G	к	L	М	N	С	F
Age 65 and older	No	Yes	\$170			\$192			\$163	\$159		\$280
With a high deductible	No	Yes				\$64						
GLOBE LIFE AND ACCIDENT INSURANC 1-800-801-6831	E CO		Α	В	D	G	к	L	М	N	С	F
Age 65 and older	Yes	Yes	\$121	\$198		\$212				\$181	\$229	\$231
With a high deductible	Yes	Yes				\$54						\$54
GPM HEALTH & LIFE 1-866-242-7573			Α	В	D	G	к	L	м	N	С	F
Age 65 and older	No	Yes	\$195			\$243				\$162		\$287
HUMANADENTAL INSURANCE CO 1-866-205-0000			Α	В	D	G	к	L	М	N	с	F
Age 65 and older	Yes	Yes	\$143			\$185				\$150		\$229
With a high deductible	Yes	Yes				\$66						\$67
LOYAL AMERICAN (Cigna) 1-866-459-4272			Α	В	D	G	к	L	м	N	С	F
Age 65 and older	Yes	Yes	\$210			\$219				\$145		\$287
PREMERA BLUE CROSS 1-800-752-6663			Α	В	D	G	к	L	М	N	С	F
Age 65 and older	Yes	Yes	\$189			\$194				\$187		
With a high deductible	Yes	Yes				\$52						
REGENCE BLUECROSS BLUESHIELD O 1-844-734-3623	FOREGON	1	Α	В	D	G	к	L	М	N	С	F
Age 65 and older	No	Yes	\$173			\$201	\$131			\$160	\$249	\$251

pout Regence BlueCross BlueShield of Oregon plans: These plans are available only to Clark County residents.

*To buy a Medigap plan C or F, you must have been eligible for Medicare before Jan. 1, 2020.

Washington State Office of the Insurance Commissioner • Statewide Health Insurance Benefits Advisors (SHIBA) January – March 2021 Approved Medicare Supplement (Medigap) plans

Company	Pre- X ¹	Health screen²	Standardized benefit plans & monthly costs								Plans C & F*		
REGENCE BLUE SHIELD 1-844-734-3623			Α	В	D	G	к	L	М	N	С	F	
Age 65 and older	No	Yes	\$159			\$188	\$121			\$145	\$224	\$225	
Notes about Regence Blue Shield plans Jefferson, King, Kitsap, Klickitat, Lewis, M Whatcom, and Yakima.												,	
SENTINEL 1-888-510-0668			Α	В	D	G	к	L	M	N	с	F	
Age 65 and older	No	Yes	\$307	\$342	\$365						\$423	\$428	
STATE FARM INSURANCE (Call local agent)			Α	В	D	G	к	L	М	N	С	F	
Age 65 and older	Yes	Yes	\$161		\$169	\$169				\$131	\$261	\$264	
TRANSAMERICA 1-866-205-9120			Α	В	D	G	к	L	М	N	С	F	
Age 65 and older	No	Yes	\$138	\$182	\$199	\$199	\$99	\$147	\$181	\$170	\$215	\$216	
UNITED AMERICAN INSURANCE CO 1-800-755-2137			Α	в	D	G	к	L	м	N	С	F	
Age 65 and older	Yes	Yes	\$167	\$230	\$246	\$222				\$205	\$259	\$288	
With a high deductible	Yes	Yes				\$44						\$44	
Under age 65 Medicare disability	Yes	Yes		\$449									
UNITEDHEALTHCARE (AARP) ³ 1-800-523-5800			Α	В	D	G	к	L	М	N	С	F	
Age 65 and older	No	Yes	\$145	\$214		\$210	\$66	\$147		\$171	\$253	\$254	
Medicare Select Plan*	No	Yes				\$199				\$163	\$238	\$239	

*To buy a Medigap plan C or F, you must have been eligible for Medicare before Jan. 1, 2020.

Washington State Office of the Insurance Commissioner • Statewide Health Insurance Benefits Advisors (SHIBA) January – March 2021 Approved Medicare Supplement (Medigap) plans

Company	Pre- X ¹	Health screen ²	Standardized benefit plans & monthly costs								Plans C & F*		
UNITED OF OMAHA LIFE INSURANCE CO 1-800-667-2937				В	D	G	к	L	М	N	С	F	
Age 65 and older	No	Yes	\$196			\$221				\$146		\$294	
With a high deductible	No	Yes				\$54						\$70	
USAA 1-800-292-8556			Α	В	D	G	к	L	М	Ν	С	F	
Age 65 and older	No	Yes	\$135			\$180				\$135		\$228	
WASHINGTON STATE HEALTH CARE AUTHORITY (HCA) BLUE CROSS PREMERA PLANS 1-888-208-6264			А	В	D	G	К	L	М	N	С	F	
Age 65 and older	No	No				\$189							
Under age 65 Medicare disability	No	No				\$321							
Note about Washington State HCA plans member (PEBB members must enroll direct for a paper application for Group ID: 100004	ly with the H	ICA). State re	esidents	should o	call the E	Blue Cro	ss Prem						

*To buy a Medigap plan C or F, you must have been eligible for Medicare before Jan. 1, 2020.

NOTE: As of Sept. 28, 2020, TransAmerica Premier no longer sells Medigap plans in Washington state. The company will continue to honor and service existing Medigap plans it issued to Washington state Medicare beneficiaries.

Footnotes Explained:

- 1 = PreX (pre-existing condition) is a health problem you had within the three months before the effective date of your new plan. For this condition, a company cannot exclude benefits for that condition for more than three months after the coverage effective date. If you replace your policy and your previous policy was in effect for at least three months, you have no waiting period for any pre-existing conditions.
- 2 = No health screen means the insurance company will not ask you any health questions to decide if they will enroll you in its plan.
- 3 = You must be a member of an association to buy these plans.
- * Medicare Select policies may require you to use specific hospitals, doctors, or other health care providers to get full coverage. They must disclose network restrictions to you.

The appearance of a company on this list does not constitute an endorsement of a company or its policies by the Washington State Office of the Insurance Commissioner, SHIBA, or its volunteers.

Rev. 1-5-2021

10 Standardized Medicare Supplement (Medigap) plans chart

This chart shows the benefits included in each of the standard Medigap plans effective on or after Jan. 1, 2021.

The Medigap policy covers coinsurance only after you've paid the Medicare deductible (unless the policy you have also covers the deductible).

Note about Plans C and F:

Only applicants' first eligible for Medicare before 2020 can buy/keep Plans C, F, and high-deductible Plan F. Medigap Plans C and F are no longer available to people new to Medicare as of Jan. 1, 2020. If you were eligible for Medicare before Jan. 1, 2020, but not yet enrolled, you might be able to still buy a Plan C, F or high-deductible Plan F.

How to read the chart: 🖌 = policy covers 100% of benefit; % = policy covers that percentage; Blank = policy doesn't cover that benefit

Plans available to all Medigap applicants											
Basic benefits	Α	В	D	G*	К	L	Μ	Ν	С	F*	
Part A: Hospital coinsurance (plus costs up to an additional 365 days after Medicare benefits end)	~	~	~	~	~	~	~	~	~	~	
Part A: Hospice care coinsurance or copay	~	✓	✓	✓	50%	75%	✓	✓	\checkmark	✓	
Part B: Coinsurance or copay	✓	✓	✓	✓	50%	75%	✓	√ ***	✓	✓	
Medicare preventive care Part B coinsurance	✓	\checkmark	\checkmark	✓	✓	✓	\checkmark	✓	✓	✓	
Parts A & B: Blood (first 3 pints)	✓	\checkmark	\checkmark	✓	50%	75%	✓	\checkmark	\checkmark	✓	
Additional benefits	Α	В	D	G*	К	L	Μ	Ν	С	F*	
Skilled nursing facility care coinsurance			\checkmark	\checkmark	50%	75%	\checkmark	✓	\checkmark	✓	
Part A deductible: \$1,484		\checkmark	\checkmark	✓	50%	75%	50%	✓	\checkmark	✓	
Part B deductible: \$203									\checkmark	✓	
Part B excess charges				✓						✓	
Foreign travel emergency (lifetime limit of \$50,000)			80%	80%			80%	80%	80%	80%	
Out-of-pocket yearly limit**					\$6,220	\$3,110					

Plans available to all Medigap applicants

Medicare-eligible before 2020

*Plans F and G offer a high-deductible plan. You pay for Medicare-covered costs up to the deductible amount (\$2,370 in 2021) before your plan pays anything. **After you meet your out-of-pocket yearly limit and Part B deductible, the plan pays 100% of covered services for the rest of the calendar year.

***Plan N pays 100% of the Part B coinsurance except up to \$20 copays for some office visits and up to \$50 copays for emergency room visits (if the hospital admits you, the plan waives your emergency room copays).

Need more help?

There's no yearly open enrollment period for Medicare Supplement (Medigap) plans. You may apply to buy or switch plans at any time. However, insurers may require you to pass a health questionnaire. If you have questions about who needs to take the questionnaire, call our Insurance Consumer Hotline. If you want individual help understanding all of your options, call our hotline and ask to speak with a SHIBA counselor in your area: **1-800-562-6900**.

