Alien Firearms License

Who is required to have this license?

• A non-immigrant alien who is a resident of Washington for work or educational purposes.

Who is NOT required to have this license?

- A permanent resident of Washington or any other state is not required to have an Alien Firearms License to purchase or possess firearms or be eligible for the Washington State CPL.
- A non-immigrant alien NOT residing in Washington. However, the non-immigrant alien who does not reside in Washington must have met all other federal and state requirements.

What does this license allow for?

• It allows a non-immigrant alien to purchase or possess firearms for the purpose of hunting or sport shooting for a period of two years in Washington State.

Non-immigrant alien residing in WA

- Passport
- Visa (For work or school)
- Valid WA hunting license or proof of membership in a sport shooting club or an invitation to a sport shooting or hunting event

Non-immigrant alien NOT residing in WA

- Passport
- Visa (For work or school)
- ATF documents for personal firearms and ammunition if applicable
- Valid hunting license issued by any state or territory or an invitation to a sport shooting or hunting event

Where is this license applied for?

 The county sheriff's office where the applicant resides. For the case of Kitsap County Residents, applications <u>will be only</u> accepted at the Port Orchard Office

What are the application requirements?

- Complete an Alien Firearms License Application
- A valid passport
- A valid visa
- A valid hunting license or proof of membership of a sport shooting club
- Payment of the license fee
- Fingerprinting

What are the application hours?

Application hours are 9:00-11:00 am and 1:30-3:30 pm weekdays, excluding holidays. The application process takes about 30 minutes.

What is the fee?

• Depending on the type of fingerprinting that the sheriff's office is equipped for the fee is either \$80.25 (Live Scan) or \$90.25 (manual). Cash, check, or money order made payable to KCSO (Kitsap County Sheriff's Office.)

How long does the application process take?

• The sheriff's office has up to 60 days to complete all of the required background checks.

THIS LICENSE IS ONLY VALID FOR TWO YEARS AND IS NOT RENEWABLE.

For more information about firearms law:

If you would like to obtain more information pertaining to <u>state firearms</u> <u>laws</u>, call the Department of Licensing in Olympia at (360) 664-6616, or select this link to the <u>Department of Licensing</u> for answers to some frequently asked questions.

For questions regarding federal law pertaining to firearms, or if you would like to obtain a copy of Federal Firearms Regulations, please write or call:

The Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF) 915-2ndAve, Room 790
Seattle, WA 98174
(206) 389-6800

For additional information, please select this link www.atf.gov.