
 Certification for Parental Leave
Family Medical Leave (FMLA) / Paid Family Medical Leave (PFML)  

Human Resources Department 

Parental Leave (Bonding) Care of a Newborn / 
Placement of a Child due to Adoption/ Foster Care 

Purpose of Form:  The below-named employee has requested a leave of absence to care for a newborn/
placement of a child which qualifies under FML/PFML.  This certification form will provide Kitsap County 
with information regarding the request for leave under FML/PFML.  

Care for Spouse:  If care of your spouse is needed prior to delivery, FMLA medical certification is required. 

Instructions to Employee:  Please complete and submit this form for Parental Leave under FML/PFML to 
Human Resources.  Failure to provide a complete and sufficient notice within the 15 calendar days from your 
request for this information may result in a denial of your FML request.  

This form may be returned to Kitsap County Human Resources Department in person, by mail, or by fax 
|  Email: humanresources@co.kitsap.wa.us  |  Fax: (360) 337-7187  |

To be Completed by the Employee :

Employee’s Name:  ___________________________________________   Employee Number: ______________ 

Relationship to Child: _________________________________________________________________________    

Leave Request Start Date: ___________________________     Return Date: _____________________________    

If Intermittent Leave is being requested, identify your intentions for absences: 

___________________________________________________________________________________________ 

___________________________________________________________________________________________
NOTE:  Intermittent leave may be approved by your department

Employee signature: __________________________________________    Date signed: ______________________ 

If you choose to utilize the Washington Paid Family Leave program, applications will be submitted to the State. 
www.paidleave.wa.gov
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Expect ing Parent Leave Overview 

Congratulations! The purpose of this guide is to explain elements of your upcoming leave with respect to 
the State and Federal laws and how Kitsap County codes your leave. 

Fami ly  Medical  Leave  

You are entitled to twelve (12) weeks of unpaid Family Medical Leave (FMLA).  If care of your spouse is 
needed prior to delivery, medical certification is required.  If this is applicable, please retrieve an FMLA packet 
at Protected Leaves (kitsapgov.com) or through Human Resources. If leave is not anticipated prior to the date 
of delivery, no medical certification is required for use of FMLA under bonding/parental leave. You will be 
required to submit the Certification for Parental Leave form (page 3) and submit to Human Resources.  

 During your FMLA absence, you will continue to accrue sick and vacation leave, provided you are in 
a paid status with the County. 

  Paid  Fami ly  Medical  Leave 

Washington Paid Family and Medical Leave (PFML) is a statewide insurance program that allows 
employees the opportunity to receive partial wage replacement for bonding with a new child, without using 
accrued County leave. Employees are eligible if they worked a minimum of 820 hours in Washington State 
within the last year. Eligible employees are entitled to up to 12 weeks of family leave to care for a 
baby/bonding with a new child.  

Kitsap County does not allow an employee to supplement PFML with their paid County accruals in order 
to achieve 100% salary replacement. You may however, use your paid County accruals intermittently with 
PFML. This method can allow your benefit deductions to continue through the County and continue your 
monthly accruals of time.  

 Eligibility and compensation are determined by the Washington State Employment Security department. 
For more information, visit www.paidleave.wa.gov. 

Communicat ion 

Please notify your supervisor in regard to your anticipated leave.  Keep in mind that bonding/parental 
leave can be used intermittently up to twelve (12) months from the date of birth, however it may require 
department approval.  For additional information regarding your leave rights, please refer to the County’s 
FMLA and PFML leave policy in the Personnel Manual.   

https://www.kitsapgov.com/hr/Pages/protectedleaves.aspx
http://www.paidleave./
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Benef i t s  

In respect to your anticipated absence, you should work with your timekeeper to determine your 
estimated leave balances. Should you go into a Leave Without Pay status (LWOP), the County is responsible 
for paying its portion of insurance premiums for coverage under FMLA/PFML. You will be responsible for 
submitting payment for your portion of the premium. 

 Following the birth of your child, you have sixty (60) days from the date of birth to add your baby to 
your insurance plans. You can add your child to your insurance plans via Workday. A birth certificate will be 
required, once available. If applicable, premium adjustments should occur on the following paycheck. 
Premium rates will increase the first of the month following the date of birth. Rate sheets are available for 
viewing at www.kitsapgov.com/hr/benefits/employeebenefits.htm. 

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact Benefits Specialist Rikki Christensen via email or 
phone rrchristensen@co.kitsap.wa.us or 360.499.8844. 

http://www.kitsapgov.com/hr/benefits/employeebenefits.htm
mailto:rrchristensen@co.kitsap.wa.us
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