

# Medical Leave Overview

The purpose of this guide is to explain elements of your upcoming leave with respect to the State and Federal laws and how Kitsap County codes your leave.

## **Family Medical Leave**

The Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA) entitles an employee who has been employed with the County for 12 months and has worked at least 1,250 hours are eligible for up to twelve work weeks of FMLA leave. FMLA provides job protected leave and benefits coverage entitlements.

#### | Covered Members |

- Employee's own serious health condition in which the employee is unable to perform the functions of their job
- Care for a family member (Spouse, Child, Parent) with a serious condition
- For the birth of a child or placement of a child for adoption or foster care

If an employee is absent for their own serious health condition greater than 3 days, medical certification is required from your physician indicating you are capable of returning to work. This form can be provided by Human Resources.

During your FMLA absence, you will continue to accrue sick and vacation leave, provided you are in a paid status with the County.

## Ineligible Medical for Family Medical Leave

Under the Washington Family Care Act, employees with accrued vacation or general leave, floating holidays, sick leave, or compensatory time may use their leave to take care of a sick family member. Employees have to comply with all notice and document requirements under the applicable policy for the type of leave used.

## Paid Family Medical Leave

Washington Paid Family & Medical Leave (PFML) is a statewide insurance program that offers employees the opportunity to receive partial wage replacement while on leave to care for themselves and their family members. It may be used while on leave to recover from an illness or injury, bond with a new child, to care for a sick or injured family member.



### | Covered Members |

- Spouses & Domestic Partners
- Children (any age)
- Parents
- Siblings
- Grandchildren
- Grandparents (in-laws)

Employees are eligible if they worked a minimum of 820 hours in Washington State within the last year. Eligible employees are entitled to up to 12 weeks of medical leave or family leave. Additional weeks can be approved per the State due to multiple events.

Kitsap County does not allow an employee to supplement PFML with their paid County accruals in order to achieve 100% salary replacement. You may however, use your paid County accruals intermittently with PFML. This method can allow your benefit deductions to continue through the County and continue your monthly accruals of time.

Eligibility and compensation are determined by the Washington State Employment Security department. For more information, visit <u>www.paidleave.wa.gov</u>.

### **Benefits**

In respect to your anticipated absence, you should work with your timekeeper to determine your estimated leave balances. Should you go into a Leave Without Pay status (LWOP), the County is responsible for paying its portion of insurance premiums for coverage under FMLA/PFML. You will be responsible for submitting payment for your portion of the premium.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact Benefits Specialist Rikki Christensen via email or phone <u>rrchristensen@co.kitsap.wa.us</u> or 306.499.8844.