WITSAP COUNTY WASHINGTON

KITSAP COUNTY HUMAN RESOURCES

Maternity Leave Overview

Congratulations! The purpose of this guide is to explain elements of your upcoming leave with respect to the State and Federal laws and how Kitsap County codes your leave.

Family Medical Leave

The Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA) entitles an employee who has been employed with the County for 12 months and has worked at least 1,250 hours are eligible for up to twelve work weeks of FMLA leave. FMLA provides job protected leave and benefits coverage entitlements. Upon recovery from pregnancy disability, medical certification is required from your physician indicating you are capable of returning to work.

During your FMLA absence, you will continue to accrue sick and vacation leave, provided you are in a paid status with the County.

Ineligible Medical for Family Medical Leave

Washington State law provides additional leave rights in connection with pregnancy-related disability. Regardless of eligibility for FMLA leave, an employee is entitled to Pregnancy Disability Leave for the period temporarily disabled because of pregnancy or childbirth. A pregnant employee is eligible for pregnancy disability leave immediately upon employment with no waiting period. However, medical certification is required to confirm the need for leave.

Pregnancy disability leave is unpaid and health benefits are not automatically continued, however accrued leave may be used and the employee may continue insurance coverage at their expense. Upon recovery from pregnancy disability, medical certification is required from your physician indicating you are capable of returning to work.

Paid Family Medical Leave

Washington Paid Family and Medical Leave (PFML) is a statewide insurance program that allows employees the opportunity to receive partial wage replacement during pregnancy and bonding with a new child, without using accrued County leave. Employees are eligible if they worked a minimum of 820 hours in Washington State within the last year. Eligible employees are entitled to up to 12 weeks of family leave to care for a baby/bonding with a new child. Women who experience maternity complications are eligible for additional time off as determined by the state.



KITSAP COUNTY HUMAN RESOURCES

Kitsap County does not allow an employee to supplement PFML with their paid County accruals in order to achieve 100% salary replacement. You may however, use your paid County accruals intermittently with PFML. This method can allow your benefit deductions to continue through the County and continue your monthly accruals of time.

Eligibility and compensation are determined by the Washington State Employment Security department. For more information, visit www.paidleave.wa.gov.

Benefits

In respect to your anticipated absence, you should work with your timekeeper to determine your estimated leave balances. Should you go into a Leave Without Pay status (LWOP), the County is responsible for paying its portion of insurance premiums for coverage under FMLA/PFML. You will be responsible for submitting payment for your portion of the premium.

Following the birth of your child, you have sixty (60) days from the date of birth to add your baby to your insurance plans. You can add your child to your insurance plans via Workday. A birth certificate will be required, once available. If applicable, premium adjustments should occur on the following paycheck. Premium rates will increase the first of the month following the date of birth. Rate sheets are available for viewing at

www.kitsapgov.com/hr/benefits/employeebenefits.htm.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact Benefits Specialist Rikki Christensen via email or phone rrchristensen@co.kitsap.wa.us or 306.499.8844.