## Kitsap County District Court State of Washington

CLAIRE A. BRADLEY JUDGE, DEPARTMENT 1



614 DIVISION STREET PORT ORCHARD, WA 98366 360-337-7109 kitsapgov.com/dc\_districtcourt@kitsap.gov

SHANE R. SEAMAN JUDGE, DEPARTMENT 3 JEFFREY J. JAHNS Assistant Presiding Judge, Department 2

KEVIN P. KELLY Presiding Judge, Department 4

**ROBYN L. DUNHAM** COURT ADMINISTRATOR

## WEDDING INFORMATION

**RESERVATIONS REQUIRED**. All District Court weddings must be scheduled in advance with a judge. You may go to <u>www.KCDCweddings.com</u> to schedule a wedding or return the form below to District Court

<u>Who May Solemnize</u>. The following officers and persons, active or retired, may solemnize marriages – Supreme Court justices, judges from a Court of Appeals, Superior Court, District Court, Municipal Court, and Tribal Court, and any regularly licensed or ordained minister or any priest, imam, rabbi or similar official of any religious organization. RCW 26.04.050.

<u>Marriage License Required</u>. A marriage license issued by a county Auditor/Recorder is required. The Kitsap County Auditor's Office may be contacted at 360-337-4935. For more information about weddings, please visit the Auditor's Marriage License link at https://spf.kitsapgov.com/auditor/.

<u>2 Witnesses Required</u>. Two witnesses must be present during the ceremony. You are responsible for making sure witnesses are present. District Court has large courtrooms, so many guests are permitted.

<u>3-Day Waiting Period</u>. Washington law requires a 3-day waiting period, beginning the day after you apply for the license with the Auditor. Once the 3-day waiting period has been met, the license must be used within 60 days and is valid only in the State of Washington.

Apply For License On – *	First Day You Can Marry Is –	
Monday	Thursday	
Tuesday	Friday	
Wednesday	Saturday	
Thursday	Sunday	
Friday	Monday	

\*The 3-day waiting period does not begin until you have appeared in the office of the Auditor/Recorder and purchased the license.

<u>Judge Availability and Wedding Location</u>. Most District Court wedding ceremonies are performed at the Kitsap County Courthouse during work weekdays starting around 4:00 PM. Judges are not available during the work day. Ceremonies may also be performed on weekends, during holidays or at a different location depending upon judge availability.

<u>Courthouse Location</u>. The Kitsap County Courthouse is located at 614 Division Street, Port Orchard, WA, across the street from the Auditor's Office where your wedding license may be obtained.

<u>Or Return This Form to District Court</u>. The bottom portion of this form also may be returned to District Court. A judge will then call you within 1 work day.

Judge Shane Seaman, Judge Jeffrey Jahns, Judge Claire Bradley, Judge Kevin Kelly.

			Clip here	
WEDDING CEREMONY REQUEST				
Wedding Couple's Names	Daytime Phone	Evening Phone	Best Time to Call	
Preferred Wedding Date: Preferred Wedding Time:				
Preferred Wedding Location –				

□ Kitsap County Courthouse

□ Other: