ADDITIONAL RESOURCES & LINKS

Coordinated Legal Education, Advice & Referral (CLEAR)
System888-201-1014
Kitsap Legal Services360-479-6125
YWCA Legal Advocates360-479-0491
YWCA Alive Shelter360-479-1980
Kitsap Sexual Assault Center (KSAC)360-479-8500
Navy Legal Advocate360-396-4853
Dispute Resolution Center360-698-0968
YWCA 24-hour crisis hotline800-500-5513
KSAC 24-hour crisis support line866-831-2050
National Domestic Violence Hotline800-799-7233

Washington Law Help - www.washingtonlawhelp.org
Domestic Violence forms - www.courts.wa.gov/forms/
YWCA Kitsap County - www.ywcakitsap.org
Kitsap Sexual Assault Center - www.ksacservices.org
Safety Planning - www.thehotline.org/help/path-to-safety/
Safety Tips for Women - www.thenonprofits.com/safety.htm
RCW's - https://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/

How will you know your protective order has been served?

Access to information & notification for protective order status:

Washington Protective Order Service 1-877-242-4055 www.regiservpo.com Kitsap County Clerk's Office 614 Division St., Room 202 Port Orchard, WA 98366

Office Hours:
Monday - Friday
8:00 a.m.—12:15 p.m
1:15 p.m.—4:30 p.m.
(Closed on Weekends and
Holidays)

Phone: 360-337-7164 x 3480



Protection Orders

Can the Legal System Help Safeguard Me?

> Kitsap County Clerk's Office 614 Division St, Room 202 Port Orchard, WA 98366 Phone: (360)3377164 x3480

It is our mission to serve the courts and the citizens of Kitsap County in a manner best suited to provide quality, efficient, and effective service.

Protection Orders:

An Overview

A protection order is a civil provision with criminal penalties. It can be used to restrict or prohibit contact between a victim of abuse and the wrongdoer. A protection order is a document issued by a civil court to order a person who is abusing, stalking, or harassing you to stop doing so. There are a few different types of protection orders that exist, the relationship between parties and the situation may dictate what type of order can be issued.



Civil Protection Orders RCW 7.105

- **-Domestic Violence** Must allege the existence of domestic violence committed against the petitioner by an intimate partner or a family or household member.
- -Anti-Harassment These are for situations where one is being unlawfully harassed . No relation between the parties is required.
- -Sexual Assault SAPOs are for situations where a sexual assault has occurred and the parties have no domestic relationship between them.
- -Vulnerable Adult VAPOS are for situations where an adult lacks the functional, mental or physical ability to care for themselves and is seeking relief from abandonment, abuse, financial exploitation, or neglect.
- *Restraining orders are for Family Law Cases

No Contact Orders are filed by the State in Criminal Actions

THE PROTECTION ORDER PROCESS

The process of starting an order for protection is essentially the same for all the varying case types. Initially you will have to file a Petition for an Order for Protection and a Temporary Order for Protection; a law enforcement information sheet will also need to be completed. Please refer to our website for E-filing instructions if you are not able to appear in person. Depending on the case type and situation you may have additional documents to complete.

Once you have completed your paperwork it will all be submitted to a judge for review. The judge will decide whether or not to issue the Temporary Order for Protection, this temporary order will last until the hearing where all parties can be present to discuss the case. Temporary orders typically last between 7 and 14 days. In most cases local law enforcement will coordinate the service of your documents upon the other side; however, in some instances you will have to arrange or coordinate the service yourself.

If you need help with the process or more information about your options you may contact the clerk's office for help. Please contact an advocate to complete paperwork if you re not able to appear in person or follow procedures available Clerk (kitsapgov.com).

Additionally, there are a number of local organizations available to assist, see the 'Additional Resources & Links' section for more info.

PRIOR TO YOUR HEARING

Make a Safety Plan - If you are frightened, contact an advocate before your hearing to work out a safety plan. Advocates are sometimes even available to be with you at your court hearing. Additionally, if you are concerned the other party may be aggressive speak with courthouse security when you arrive.

Organize & Read Your Paperwork - It's always a good idea to be familiar with your paperwork, bring copies to your court date and be sure to read them ahead of time.

Review the Facts/Write Notes - You may use written

THE DAY OF YOUR HEARING

Be On Time - It is critical that you attend your hearing ON TIME. Your request for a Protection Order may be dismissed if you are late or do not appear.

Zoom Information— The court is strongly encouraging remote appearance. The Protection Order Calendar will use meeting ID: 971-6030-3815 passcode: 206. For more information, please review remoteappearance (kitsapgov.com)

Covid Procedure - Masks are required in the courtrooms. Please observe social distancing.

Dress Conservatively - Conservative clothing is most appropriate for court. Hats must be removed as soon as you enter the courtroom. You want the judge's attention to be focused on your request, not your appearance.

Show Respect for the Judge/Commissioner - No gum, food, or drinks are allowed in the courtroom. Listen carefully to the Judge/Commissioner when they are speaking. Do not interrupt or argue, address them as "your Honor", and remain courteous throughout the entire process. Your Turn to Talk - Do your best to speak distinctly in a calm, clear voice. You can use any notes you may have prepared. Tell the Judge what it is that you want and why you want it. If you are answering a question be sure to be truthful and complete. If you don't understand something that is said, say so. Make sure to stay courteous, the Judge understands emotions can run high, but inconsiderate behavior will not be tolerated.

The Other Party's Turn to Talk - Listen carefully to what the other party says, take notes if you need to, but do not interrupt the other side. If you have a legal objection, say, "Your Honor, I object", then state the objection.

