The Linda Gabriel Human Rights Awards are presented annually. Recipients are nominated by the community for their extraordinary commitment to advancing and promoting human rights for all. The awards are named in honor of Linda Gabriel, a founder of the Kitsap County Council for Human Rights, who passed away in 2014.

2024

No awards due to council schedule changes. Awards to resume in 2025.

2023

Katie Blackburn (Youth) Pastor Gregory Reffner (Adult) Cristina Roark (Adult) Catalyst Public Schools (Organization) Kitsap Strong (Organization) Linda Segur (Lifetime Achievement) Sue Miglino (Lifetime Achievement)

2022

Mer Pascual (Youth) Airen Lydick (Adult) Up From Slavery Initiative (Organization) Lilly Kodama (Lifetime Achievement) Mary Gleysteen (Lifetime Achievement)

2021

Janel Broderson (Individual) Guyland Charles (Youth) Stonechild Chiefstick, Jr (Youth) Kane Kean Chiefstick (Youth) Sophia Michelle Randle (Youth) Tiesha Joy Randle (Youth) Dispute Resolution Center of Kitsap County (Organization) Barbara Lawrence (Lifetime Achievement) Carl Jakobsson (Lifetime Achievement)

2020

Christine Barone (Individual) Alejandra Pulido (Youth) OurGEMS (Organization) Harriette Bryant (Lifetime Achievement)

2019

Reverend Richmond Johnson (Individual) Coffee Oasis (Organization) Scarlet Road (Organization) Katie Bagge (Youth)

Durrell Green (Adult)
Zachary Darner (Youth)
Partnering for Youth Achievement (Organization)

2017

Kitsap Regional Library (Organization)
Michael Goodnow (Adult)
Peggi Erickson (Adult)

2016

Kitsap Pride (Organization)

Martitha May (Adult – Kitsap Immigrant Assistance Center)

Ray Garrido (Adult – Kitsap Immigrant Assistance Center)

2015

Hailey Fort (Youth)

2014

(Formerly known as Wall of Fame awards. Changed to Linda Gabriel Awards)

Arliss Stewart

2013

Sally Santana (Adult)
Tom Fairchild (Adult)
Kitsap Safe Schools (Organization)

2012

Richard Lemieux (Adult)
Jonathan Garfunkel (Adult)
North Mason High School Gay-Straight Alliance (Organization)

2011

No nominations

2010

Denita Patton - Adult
Sally Santana – Adult
Leif Bentsen- Life Time Achievement
Kitsap Immigrant Assistance Center (Organization)

2009

Lenora Trahant (Adult)
Bishop Lawrence Robertson (Adult)
Joan Ferebee (Adult)
Karen Vargas (Lifetime Achievement)
Maria Rivera (Lifetime Achievement)

2008

El Centro de la Familia (Organization)
Suquamish Tribe (Organization)
Rob Purser (Adult)
Dr. Frank Kitamoto (Lifetime Achievement)

2007

Kim Bush & Judy Friesem (Lifetime Achievement)

2006

Chris Wendelyn (Lifetime Achievement) **2005**

Clarence Moriwaki (Adult)
Dr. Eugene Medina (Adult)
Marie Hebert (Lifetime Achievement)

2004

Sarah Van Gelder (Adult)

2003

Jerry Hebert (Adult)
Vicki Gambrell (Adult)
Lockheed Martin (Organization)
Jewel Box Theatre (Organization)
Natalie Bryson (Lifetime Achievement)

2002

Chris Endresen (Adult)
NAACP Bremerton Chapter Earn and Learn Program (Organization)
Ted George (Lifetime Achievement)

2001

Sherry and Hank Pangborn (Adult)
Lesly Pfau (Youth)
Kitsap Universalist Unitarian Fellowship (Organization)
Jeanni Johnson (Lifetime Achievement)
Larry Dixon (Special Recognition)

2000

Steve Parsons (Adult)
Hanoko Lombardi (Youth)
OUTKitsap (Organization)
Dean Miyakusu (Lifetime Achievement)

Christine Hipolito (Youth)
Lennie Meder (Adult)

NAACP Executive Committee (Organization)
Alyce Eagans (Lifetime Achievement)
Marion Boushe (In Memoriam)

1998

Mary Abo (Adult)
Henry A. "Tony" Murkins (Adult)
Margit Sperling (Youth)
C.A.K.E.S. [Community Active Kids Elementary Style] (Group)

1997

Darrell Fields (Adult)

1996

William Moore, Sr. (Adult) Mario Brown (Youth)

I.D.E.A.S. [Inspiring Diversity Education Among Schools] (Group)
Patricia Thomas, Jerry Hurd, Connie Fields, J.D. Sweet, Cherry Rachal, Silvery Brown,
Donell Nathan

1995

Susan Glass Burdick (Adult)
Larry Greene (In Memoriam)
United Brothers & Sisters of Bainbridge High School (Group)

1994

Robert Boddie, Jr. (Adult)
Profits of Unity [South Kitsap High School] (Group)
PFLAG [Parents & Friends of Gays & Lesbians] (Organization)

1993

Gina Vicente (Adult)
Bremerton High School Black Students Union (Youth)
Inter Tribal Council Committee Against Racism (Group)

1992

Peggy Ahvakana - Andrew Cainion
Nora Roberts & Donn Fast
Tina Pena Jeu - Richard Kroll
Richard Martinez - Van Kim Tran
Kay & Sam Makao
Rita & Steve Old Coyote
Rose Purser - Jerry Reid
Larry Robertson - Dianne Robinson
Sharon Rutzick - Patricia Thomas
Club M.C. [Bremerton Middle School]
The Family [Central Kitsap High School]

H.O.M.E. [North Kitsap High School]

Naval Avenue Elementary [Bremerton School District]

Olympic College Multicultural Center

Profits of Unity [South Kitsap High School]

Project Respect [The Navy & Ck School District]

Spectrum Community School [NK School District]

United Brothers & Sisters [Bainbridge High School]